Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Four Elements

Web Archiving COVID-19

by Karina Wratschko on 2020-08-31T10:01:00-04:00 | Comments

Screen shot of URLs captured for PMA's COVID-19 web archives

The Archives is participating in a PACSCL (Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collection Libraries) project focused on capturing web content relating to COVID-19’s impact on the Philadelphia region. Web archiving is the process of capturing and preserving websites, as well as organizing and describing the sites so they can easily be found and used for future research or access.

The PACSCL Archive-It project focuses on capturing websites relevant to the Philadelphia region’s response to COVID-19 on the web. The scope is also guided by PACSCL member organizations’ specific interests, which include but is not limited to COVID-19 responses in LGBTQIA communities, the healthcare industry, local artists, and more. Philadelphia Museum of Art's collection of COVID-19 web pages, can be viewed alongside the web archives of several other PACSCL organizations. This project will be active from May 2020 through at least April 2021. The web archived pages will serve as resources for future researchers to learn about the impact of COVID-19 on the Philadelphia region.

To nominate a website for the PACSCL Archive-It collection, email margaret.huang@philamuseum.org. To start web archiving on your own, see the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Archives
Black Artists

  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...