Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Four Elements

Resource updates for November 2020

by Adam Robinson on 2020-11-19T10:58:05-05:00 | Comments

New Resources:

Grolier Club: Research Resources on Black American Book Collectors and Book Collecting
In this post, the Grolier Club Library highlights libraries with strong collections relating to Black American book collectors and collecting. This guide begins with a section dedicated to two of the most influential Black bibliophiles of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, Charles Blockson and Dorothy Porter Wesley. It is organized thereafter by the name of collecting institution in alphabetical order.

Project Muse (trial through November 30) 
Through the month of November, enjoy access to Project Muse's 100% full text, peer reviewed, current periodical content from not-for-profit publishers in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.

Hat Archive (trial through December 17)

Starting with its first issue in 1999, The Hat Archive spans two decades sharing a snapshot of the worldwide industry throughout the renaissance of the couture milliner and the demise of the large hat manufacturer. Subscribers will have access to the archive from 1999 to 2017, exploring how designers, buyers and retailers work together to bring the crafted accessory to the shop floor. Includes fully-searchable access to the archive of back issues. This resource requires a password. Staff can log in to MyAthens for login information.


New Enhancements: 

Bloomsbury Design Library (new content)
33 Designer Biographies, including Zaha Hadid, Stella McCartney, Rei Kawakubo and Hella Jongerius. 
10 ebooks, including Relating to Things: Design, Technology and the Artificial 
14 exclusive encyclopedia articles, including an article on Cartoon(s). 

IFAR: Catalogues Raisonnés Database (new filtering functionality)
Currently, IFAR's Catalogues Raisonnés Database contains information on more than 4,700 published and in-preparation catalogues raisonnés concerning 3,175 artists. These can be searched by author's name, artist's name, and artist's place of birth, death or period of activity. The new filters enable users to limit search results to fully digitized print catalogues and both free and subscription-based "born-digital" online catalogues raisonnés. To date the Database includes 280 digitized print catalogues and more than 200 online catalogue raisonnés, the majority of which are not listed in WorldCat or other library records. 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Archives
Black Artists

  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...