The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
This collaborative project between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art presents digitized highlights from the personal libraries of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force, the museums’ respective inaugural directors.
Announcing the National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Complete sets of high-resolution archival images of manuscripts from the University of Pennsylvania Libraries and other institutions, along with machine-readable TEI P5 descriptions and technical metadata.
In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE supports participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on its platform.
General art history platform featuring more than 880 videos and 2,000 essays on art and cultural history from the Paleolithic era to the 21st century that include the art of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching — a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region.
In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020.
Developed by the MCN professional organization of museum workers involved with automated museum collections (registrars and collections managers) in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this portal brings together many terrific online resources and collections from museums, libraries, and cultural centers.
A list of databases, archives, search engines, publications, and other independent projects whose main focus is the documentation of artist interviews, both online and in print. Ranging from the institutional to the commercial and from critical scholarship to artful entertainment, the collection of resources presented here aims to be both comprehensive and instructive for anyone who wishes to learn more about artist interviews
A care-informed approach for a rapid transition to remote teaching during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is a work in progress (currently around 99.9% complete), and an “unofficial” guide for arts faculty at VCU.
Free A–Z Database List
Many of our frequently used databases are freely available online — these are gathered together for quick access in the following list.