Skip to main content

Using the Archives

Learn how to use and visit our archives

About the Archives

The Archives documents the key activities of the museum, our directors, curators, and all other departments involved in programs and operations since our founding in 1876. Our collections also include the personal papers and manuscript collections of people related to the museum, which helps us tell the story of the institution and its collections.

About Our Collections

The Archives holds a variety of materials, including institutional and directors’ records, personal papers, and ephemera that chronicle the history of our institution. We have over 4,200 linear feet of material, from correspondence, photographs, and films, to other audiovisual material, scrapbooks and artifacts. Our collections are described using finding aids, which are available in ArchivesSpace. Some notable collections include the Alexina and Marcel Duchamp Papers, Arensberg Archives, JulienLevy Gallery Records, Fiske Kimball Records, Young-Mallin Archive, and George Grey Barnard Papers.

Questions we could help you answer:

  • What is the background for this important exhibition or event?
  • Can you tell me about the history of this work of art in the museum’s collection? Please note that we cannot appraise objects.
  • Do you have any correspondence with this director, curator, or other key staff member?
  • Can you tell me more about this donor or collector? 
  • Do you have any images of staff, donors, notable visitors, past exhibitions, events, and gallery spaces?

Contact the Library & Archives

Hours: 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Tuesday through Friday (excluding holidays)

Location: 2nd floor, Perelman Building 

Main Desk: (215) 684-7640

Email:

library@philamuseum.org
archives@philamuseum.org