Skip to main content

Using the Archives: Home

About the Archives

The Archives serves as the Museum’s corporate memory and documents the key activities of our directors, curators, and virtually all other departments involved in programs and operations since our founding in 1876. Our collections also include the personal papers and manuscript collections of people related to the Museum, which helps us tell the story of the institution and its collections.

Overview

Collections and research

The Archives holds a variety of materials, including corporate records, manuscripts, personal papers, ephemera, scrapbooks, photographs, and artifacts which chronicle the history of our institution. We have directors' records, departmental records, personal papers, and manuscript collections.

Some examples of frequently requested material:

  • Important historical precedents

  • Provenance-related documentation about works of art

  • Correspondence of the directors, curators, and other key staff

  • Information about donors and collections at the Museum

  • Exhibition views from prior shows

  • Images of staff, donors, and notable visitors

  • Personal papers of notable artists such as Marcel Duchamp and George Grey Barnard

Finding Aids

We recommend you provide a list of collections and boxes you wish to consult, so your materials can be pulled in time for your appointment. Please consult our Finding Aids, which are descriptive inventories for our collections.

Appraisal

The Archives does not appraise materials. Please contact the American Society of Appraisers, P.O. Box 17265, Washington, D. C., 20041 at 1-800-272-8258 for a list of appraisers in a specific geographic area.

Visit Us

Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Tuesday through Friday (excluding holidays)
Location: 2nd Floor, Perelman Building

 

Book an Appointment

When requesting material, please be sure to include the Collection Name and Box Number:

If you have any questions, please contact us!

Archives@philamuseum.org

Associate Archivist and Records Manager