Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home

 Library and Archives Services Update

Library and Archives Services July 2021 Update

Staff are providing remote reference services while the Perelman Building and our reading rooms remain closed to walk-ins until July 2022.

Interlibrary Loan Services

Philadelphia Museum of Art borrowers can use our interlibrary loan (ILL) services to access materials not available in the Library & Archives' collections.

  • The PALCI (Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium, Inc.) E-ZBorrow program gives patrons access to print books from 52 academic libraries throughout the region.
  • Materials not found in E-ZBorrow, as well as electronic copies of journal articles and book chapters, can be obtained through WorldCat, which draws from the catalogs of public, academic, and special libraries both throughout the United States and internationally.
  • ILL staff can also request digital delivery of microfilm reels from the Archives of American Art for researchers.

Physical items are made available for pickup on the hold carts on the Lower Level of the Perelman building. Electronic requests are emailed directly to patrons.

Please note that, while we process ILL requests daily, the pandemic continues to affect the staffing and shipping schedules of research institutions nationwide, including our own. Some requests may be delayed. 

Questions? Contact us at ill@philamuseum.org.

Request Books and Physical Media

 

PALCI E-ZBorrow logo

 

Start your search for print books with E-ZBorrow.

PALCI has recently updated their request portal on both the back end and patron side. The new page is at https://ezborrow.reshare.indexdata.com

The old portal will be shut down on September 1st, 2021, and your past E-ZBorrow borrowing history will no longer be available. However, we will preserve a list of all books you currently have on loan.

For new requests, follow the below instructions:

  • Click the "Request" button on the record of the book you need.
  • Now you'll be prompted to log in. Select "Philadelphia Museum of Art, Library and Archives" from the drop-down menu, enter your PMA Library ID, then click "Submit."
  • On the the "Confirm Request" page, select the pick-up location "Library Reading Room," the date needed by, volume(s) needed, and any notes.
  • Remember that:
    • You can only request print books through E-ZBorrow. Use WorldCat Discovery for electronic delivery of chapter scans or article requests. 
    • We are not equipped to borrow or lend ebooks through any ILL portal.

Please note that some features in E-ZBorrow are not available and/or still under development, including OpenAthens authentication and patron-accessible borrowing histories. If you have any feedback or suggestions, please contact us at ill@philamuseum.org.

WorldCat Discovery Services Logo

If you can't find the book you're searching for in E-ZBorrow, search for the title in WorldCat. Once you find the correct record, click on the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button and fill in your contact information and provide any special instructions if needed.

While many libraries choose not to circulate these materials via ILL, feel free to place requests for DVDs, microfilm, and other non-print media. However, please note that we are not set up to borrow or lend ebooks at this time.

 

Smithsonian Archives of American Art Logo

PMA users can also request digital delivery of mircofilm reels from the Smithsonian's Archives of American Art. Please email ILL staff at ill@philamuseum.org with the reel numbers, and they will place the request on your behalf.

Request Articles and Book Chapter Scans

Before requesting an article via ILL, check our current print and electronic serials holdings using the Gold Rush tool. The material you need may be on site or or accessible online.

If you can't find the article you're looking for in Gold Rush, or if you need a chapter scan instead, search for the journal or book title in WorldCat. Once you find the correct record, click on the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button and fill in your citation and contact information.

 

Replacement Policy for Lost or Damaged ILL Books

The PMA is responsible for replacing lost or damaged interlibrary loan items. We either pay a flat fee or purchase a new copy of the book, depending on the owning library’s policy.

If a staff member in your department loses or damages an ILL item, you'll need to provide us with a charge line to cover the cost.