Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Art History Resources on JSTOR

A guide to finding art and art history sources on JSTOR.

About JSTOR

JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources. It provides full-text scholarly articles in history and art history including 19th century art journals and museum publications.

Search

PMA staff can log in through OpenAthens  or through JSTOR's Institution Finder.

 

JSTOR Logo

 

Search in:

 

Browse JSTOR's Art and Art History collection which includes over 172 journals and 2,490 eBooks.

Or browse related disciplines:
Architecture & Architectural History | Language & Literature | Music  | Performing Arts

Search Tips

  • Search for an exact phrase by enclosing it in quotation marks: "to be or not to be"
  • Use "Advanced Search" to limit searches by publication dates, type of content, and fields such as author and caption title.
  • Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Scope and Range

  • JSTOR includes more than 125 journal titles and hundreds of ebooks within the discipline of art & art history. 
  • JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
  • The collection is strongest in the sub-disciplines of fine arts, Western art, Asian art, classical and ancient art, and Medieval and Renaissance art
  • At this time, the majority of the content is from the United States, with international titles coming from the UK, Germany, and the Netherlands. 
  • Publication dates on JSTOR range from 1665 to the present, but not all titles have current issues on JSTOR. Consult with a librarian if you don't find what you need.
  • Much of the journal content on JSTOR has a "moving wall," a set period of time (usually three to five years) between a journal issue’s publication date and its availability as archival content on JSTOR. 

Highlights

  • Rare American art periodicals from the early 20th century that includes the poems, designs, and art work from contemporaries such as Alfred Stieglitz, Katharine Rhoades, Francis Picabia, and William H. Bradley. 
  • Titles from many of the leading societies (College Art Association, Society of Architectural Historians, Royal Society of the Arts, among others) as well as publications from museums and art library associations (Metropolitan Museum of  Art, MoMA, the British Museum, the Rijksmuseum). 
  • A highlight of the ebook collection is the Royal Irish Academy’s five-volume set, Art and Architecture of IrelandFeaturing more than 3,000 images, these ebooks explore Ireland's artistic and architectural heritage from the early Middle Ages to the end of the 20th century.
  • Primary Source Collections

Philadelphia Museum of Art on JSTOR

Philadelphia Museum of Art Bulletin

An occasional scholarly journal that, since 1903, has published original research on the collections and exhibitions of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, whose extensive holdings of the fine and applied arts of Asia, Europe, and the Americas spanning over 2,000 years are among the world's most distinguished. The articles present a wide range of art-historical explorations of the diverse objects—painting, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, costume, textiles, decorative arts, furnished interiors, and architectural settings—that are housed within in the Museum and that are the focus of its vigorous exhibition program.

Philadelphia Museum of Art Bulletin Vol. 91, No.

The New Philadelphia Museum of Art

JSTOR features many journal articles about the museum and its collections.

Below "The New Philadelphia Museum of Art" reviews plans for of the museum at top Fairmount Hill.

Salade, Robert F. "The New Philadelphia Museum of Art." The American Magazine of Art 15, no. 10 (1924): 538–39.

Article page with illustration on top

125 Years and Still Waiting: A Museum Library History

JSTOR features many journal articles about the museum and its collections.

Below "125 Years and Still Waiting: A Museum Library History" by then–Library Director, Allen Townsend, uncovers the history of the Philadelphia Museum of Art library which traces back to the founding of the museum in Memorial Hall during the 1876 Centennial Exposition.

Townsend, Allen. "125 Years and Still Waiting: A Museum Library History." Art Documentation: Journal of the Art Libraries Society of North America  20, no. 1 (2001): 4–7.

First page of article.

Artstor Images

An increasing number of Artstor's Digital Library images are now discoverable through JSTOR. Artstor holds over 2.5 million images including many images of the museum, it's collection, and exhibitions.

Sample search results for