Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Image Guide

A guide to finding and using images in the museum collections and elsewhere.

Architectural and Site Photography

Museum under construction.

Site and architectural photography document the museum's buildings and grounds—from construction photographs of our iconic main building, to the Perelman Building annex, to the Rodin Museum, to Cedar Grove and Mount Pleasant (2 historic houses in Fairmount Park), and sites that no longer exist like the 69th Street Annex.

Archive Collection Highlights

  • Architectural Drawings The Archives holds over 36 flat file drawers of architectural drawings, which detail some of the following major construction projects: construction of the Main Building, renovation of the Reliance Life Insurance Building into the Perelman Building, construction of the Parking Garage, and installation of period rooms
  • Fiske Kimball Papers
  • Henri Gabriel Marceau Director Records
  • Special Format: Photographs Collection During the construction of the museum's main building in Fairmount, a series of images were taken to document the process. Some images have been digitized and are available in ArtStor. Just search "construction".

Contact the Archives with the collection names and box numbers you wish to examine.

Digital Collections

Some aerial views of the museum's construction are owned by the Free Library of Philadelphia and can be found in their Digital Collections.