Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Image Guide

A guide to finding and using images in the museum collections and elsewhere.

Exhibition and Installation Images

Exhibition and installation images document the setup and display of special exhibitions, installations, and sometimes permanent collection rotations in the galleries.

A timeline of all exhibitions at the museum from 1876–2019 is available on the History of the Philadelphia Museum of Art guide. 

The Archives holds many historic images of the museum staff, trustees, volunteers, and affiliates. The following are key collections in the Archives for this area:

Tips

Look for the options to search within the collection by keyword or year. 

Notes:

  • Not all exhibitions received photography, especially if they had a short duration or were during the summer
  • The photographs are usually 8×10 black-and-white gelatin silver prints
  • Usually, the negatives are housed with the prints inside the folder
  • Physical production of the prints stopped in the early 2000s
  • Color images of exhibitions and installations started in the mid-1960s but were taken via slides
  • In the 1990s, digital photography took over

Contact the Archives with the collection names and box numbers you wish to examine.

1932 Exhibition, Persian Art and its Influences

Persian Art and its Influences, 1932, Rights and Reproductions Collection.

Digital Collections

Digital images of Philadelphia Museum of Art's exhibition and installation are available from 2005 to present day.