Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Image Guide

A guide to finding and using images in the museum collections and elsewhere.

Staff and Affiliate Photography

People near East entrance.

The Archives holds many historic images of the museum staff, trustees, volunteers, and affiliates. The following are key collections in the Archives for this area:

Contact the Archives with the collection names and box numbers you wish to examine.

Tips for Finding Images of People and Events in the Archives

  • If you are trying to find specific images, knowing the exact date of the event is very helpful. Many of the collections are organized by date and not by topic.
  • To find images of specific people, start by searching the person's last name in ArchivesSpace. Keep a close eye on the collections that are being pulled up by your search. Do you recognize any of the image collections? If so, it is more likely that your hits will result in an image.
  • If nothing is coming up in ArchivesSpace, use the questions above to triangulate what collections in which you you might need to look.
    • During what time period did they work at the museum?
    • Which department did they work in?
    • Did they attend any major events, such as exhibition openings?
  • Keep in mind that many folders will not include the names of individuals pictured, so, if you can locate relevant material about an event, that is the best place to start.

Event Photography

Event photography documents the many events and activities that occur at the museum—from tours and programs, to opening galas, to special performances and classes that take place in and around the museum.

Museum staff can search JSTORForum, which holds some event photography. Email the library if you need any assistance. 

Digital Collections