Bernard Berenson’s Drawings of the Florentine Painters is a digital resource based on Berenson’s publication of the same name. This research tool permits searches for any of the drawings listed in the three editions (1903, 1938 in English; 1961, in Italian). Filters allow browsing and searching by artist and title (as provided by Berenson, in English or Italian), location and technique.
Free image access, with registration, to over 1 million images published under a Creative Commons license of the museum's collection of over 4 million objects. Larger images are available for publication upon request.
DPLA Images lets you search the Digital Public Library of America, a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country, for images. Enter a search term, or click "surprise me" for a treat.
The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.
Collection areas cover Taonga Māori, Pacific Cultures, New Zealand History, Photography, Art, Botany, and Zoology these topics are complemented by over 190,000 images, with over 60,000 available for high-resolution download.
With over 16,000 works, PAFA's ever-evolving and internationally renowned permanent collection ranges from 18th- and 19th-century masters Benjamin West, Thomas Eakins, Winslow Homer, and Mary Cassatt, to modern and contemporary artists including Charles Demuth, Jacob Lawrence, Alice Neel, Mickalene Thomas, Andy Warhol, and Kehinde Wiley.
Rijksstudio is an innovative digital application that makes a large part of the Rijksmuseum's collection available to all, absolutely free of charge. Some 125,000 well- and lesser-known pictures can be examined in close detail.
All of the U.S. National Archives’ images that are part of The Flickr Commons are marked “no known copyright restrictions.” They represent a sample of the more than 25 million photographs and 20,000 graphic images (posters and some original artwork) in the Archives' holdings.
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) has provided services to the academic community for 20 years and has built up a portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
The Wellcome Library in London made 100,000 art and medicine images available online for open use. This collection is where to look for offbeat, bizarre photos including medical art of all types including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements. The images may be used for commercial or personal purposes, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).
Contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. You are free to use these images for non-profit educational purposes, but give credit to the copyright holders who retain rights to the images. These works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 License.